Girls Names “”Pittura Infamante”

Girls Names are back next month with their follow-up to 2011′s Dead To Me. They’ve released 3 tracks from it so far, the latest being “Pittura Infamante” today. These guys are sort of flying under the radar.

Of the new album, to be titled The New Life, frontman Cathal Cully had this to say:

Dead to Me literally was dead to us by the time it was committed to wax. But it’s a learning curve. We started moving on as artists the moment we finished that recording session, maybe even before. Not to dwell on the past, The New Life is what happens when you reset everything back to zero and start again, but try to perfect. It starts back at zero the minute the needle hits the groove but we’re also starting back from zero once the needle lifts at the end of the record. Ad infinitum. The New Life is what follows now.”

“Pittura Infamante” adds a moodiness to their normally sunnier guitar riffs and mixes it all together with Cully’s darkly romantic crooning. He also produced the new record. They have a Crystal Stilts vibe to them (they are label-mates), but definitely make that sound lighter and their own. Listen to “Pittura Infamante” and the first two singles below: “Hypnotic Regression” and title track “The New Life,” a 7-minute cloudy jangler.

The New Life is out in the US February 18th on Slumberland. Track list and pre-order at the bottom of this post. There’s also a 12″ of the title track with B-side remix.

The New Life Tracklist (iTunes):

1. Portrait
2. Pittura Infamante
3. Drawing Lines
4. Hypnotic Regression
5. Occultation
6. Second Skin
7. The Olympia
8. Notion
9. Projecktions
10. The New Life
11. Visions (iTunes Bonus Track)