Chelsea Light Moving Announce Debut Album

Thurston Moore’s new band, Chelsea Light Moving have been pretty quiet, save for some sporadic mp3 releases and a couple shows at 285 Kent and Public Assembly a few months ago. That changed today when they announced the release of their self-titled debut LP, due on on March 5 via Matador. They also have shared a new mp3 download, for the track Empire of Time.

The announcement, which came by way of a blog post on Matablog (Matador’s blogging platform) also included tour details, including stops at Maxwell’s with Talk Normal on March 2nd (tickets on sale Friday) and Bowery Ballroom on April 5. More on Chelsea Light Moving after the jump.

CHELSEA LIGHT MOVING is the current group led by Sonic Youth founder Thurston Moore. He is the songwriter and plays over-amped hyper electric guitar and sings with raw-glam-destructo vocals. The band is a four piece featuring Samara Lubelski, who has played violin with TM on his last two solo LPs (Demolished Thoughts and Trees Outside The Academy) and with CHELSEA LIGHT MOVING plays deep psyche pop metal bass guitar. Keith Wood, who records under the aegis Hush Arbors, plays electric guitar with a pick forged from angel wing and John Moloney, aka “Pegasus”, approaches the drums like an asteroid hurtling toward Earth. The first CD self-titled was recorded in two spurious sessions with engineer Justin Pizzoferrato in Sone Lab, a killer studio in Easthampton MASSACHUSETTS. The band is ready to detonate any birthday party, wedding or hullaboo in any country, planet or stratosphere that doesn’t support right wing extremist NRA sucking bozo-ology.