I started How Music Works by David Byrne yesterday (thank you Based Greg). And this morning, just after reading the line “Glam rock was the new thing. Bowie made a big impression on me, and at one point I dyed my hair blonde and sewed myself some leather trousers,” I stopped reading for a moment, as one does on the subway, to stare off as we crossed the Williamsburg Bridge. I then aimlessly loaded Twitter to see if there was anything good so far today to write about. And then I gasped. Probably audibly. DAVID BOWIE IS BACK.

The last time David Bowie came out with an album was ten years ago, with 2003′s Reality. It was pretty good! Following that album’s tour, though, he was diagnosed with an acute blocked artery, had surgery, and has mostly laid Low since, playing shows and benefits here and there. No new music, however.

So today, which happens to also be Bowie‘s 66th birthday, is a very good day.

He’s announced a new album - The Next Day - set to be released in the US on March 12 via Columbia. It will be his 30th (!!) studio release. Pre-order dropped on iTunes early this morning in almost 120 countries. All the options are HERE.

BUT WAIT! There’s more! The first single is available to listen to. AND a video! Did we loop back in time? Is this Christmas morning? The song “Where Are We Now?,” recorded in New York, was produced by longtime collaborator Tony Visconti. The video was directed by artist-sculptor Tony Oursler, as you’ll see by the eerie Bowie-head-in-a-chair. It’s about Bowie’s time in Berlin, and even shows the auto shop he used to live above.

At this time, according to a spokesperson (via the Guardian), there are no plans for interviews or live dates.

Watch the video & read the album tracklist below. Happy birthday Ziggy.

The Next Day tracklist:

1. The Next Day
2. Dirty Boys
3. The Stars (Are Out Tonight)
4. Love is Lost
5. Where Are We Now?
6. Valentine’s Day
7. If You Can See Me
8. I’d Rather Be High
9. Boss of Me
10. Dancing Out in Space
11. How Does the Grass Grow?
12. (You Will) Set the World on Fire
13. You Feel So Lonely You Could Die
14. Heat

15. So She
16. I’ll Take You There
17. Plan